- Twitter has announced a new feature that could change the way brands are seen on Twitter — the "mute" feature.
- Initiating the mute feature on an account removes any of that user's tweets from a timeline and prevents any push or SMS notifications from that user.
- The muted users can still interact with a follower that has muted them, but that user will not see any of the interaction. Muted accounts will not be notified they have been muted.
This feature change takes away one of Twitter's advantages for brands — that their updates would always appear in news feeds. This move makes the site a little more like Facebook, which filters posts based on its algorithm. Now brands can no longer be sure every tweet or interaction is reaching a user. It remains to be seen whether tweeters would be interested in muting accounts rather than just unfollowing them, but brands should be especially cautious about over-tweeting now to avoid being muted.